Life and Choices

March 26, 2009 at 3:53 am 4 comments

“It took you 15 minutes to decide what to wear this morning. Choosing a sensible lunch will go much quicker.”  fast food restaurant ad in O magazine (bolds theirs).

This ad addresses the issue that so many of us women struggle with. We have so many choices to make that it leaves time for little else. And yes, life’s full of choices. What to eat, which man to go out with, what to wear… as this ad accurately displays. In fact, with so many choices, it’s a relief to not have to make a difficult decision for once. 

Decision-making applies to many things, especially to clothes. My clothes have to match. The accessories have to be used in such a way that I don’t look tacky. Makeup has to be applied so that I don’t look washed out. I don’t want to look like the cookie monster, I want to look BEAUTIFUL. Making oneself beautiful is an art. And taking only 15 minutes to do so… 15 minutes is really something to be proud of, for goodness’ sake. But all that aside, there are tough decisions in life, and there are easy decisions. Do I marry him, or do I not marry him? Do I want to put up with his annoying habit of chewing with his mouth open, or should I look for another guy? Should I wear the turquoise earrings or the pearl dangles?

Face it. Making decisions isn’t an easy thing to do at all, at times. It doesn’t help when, if you’re like me, you have a very very extensive spring wardrobe (bought for $929.5). If it were only a spring wardrobe, it wouldn’t be such a big deal. But no, add to that my winter wardrobe, and my fall wardrobe, and my collection of stud earrings that I’m hoping will come back into fashion. No wonder we women SUPPOSEDLY take a long time to choose what to wear in the morning. Thank God for places like this fast food chain who want to help us in the other decisions that we have to make.

After putting forth their statement, the ad offers a “solution” of sorts. The fast-food chain offers a healthy lunch which can be selected easily and quickly. I’m taking this to mean that they have fewer choices of food, thus making it easier for us to make decisions. So I’ll make up for it by choosing a sensible lunch quickly. With fewer choices, how hard can it be?

“Life’s full of choices. Who gives you more than [same fast food]?”

… I am very confused…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

The perfect lady and magazines The perfect lady and makeup: Foundation

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. WSW  |  March 27, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    you have a spring wardrobe and wardrobes for other seasons!!

    I am a nice shade of green now.

    Reply
    • 2. spamwarrior  |  March 27, 2009 at 2:22 pm

      Psst. It’s satire. I actually was referring to another post… but anyway I actually don’t have a wardrobe for all seasons… I only have a summer wardrobe and a spring wardrobe. And I don’t buy my clothes, I get them from my friends at my church when they don’t want them anymore. 😉

      Reply
  • 3. WSW  |  March 27, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    Aargh! I feel stupid now. Will look at your posts with satire’s eye than taking it literally from now on.
    And what post are u referring to..link pliss…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Days of being Perfect

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Visitors

  • 158,441 Perfect People

Tracking the Perfect Lady

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


